top of page
Boy Playing with Abacus

Village Curriculum

Children from birth to five have their own Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. This document informs our Nursery Curriculum and offers children the opportunity to learn through a wide range of fun, practical experiences where children can observe, explore, discover and communicate in both the indoor and outdoor learning environments. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) has many aspects to it. Below are the four key principles that underpin our practice at Little Village Nursery School.

A Unique Child

Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environments

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual interests and needs and help them to build their learning over time. Children benefit from a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers. The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

Learning and Development

The importance of learning and development - all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.. Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

The nine areas of learning and development are:

  1. Prime Areas​

  2. Communication and Language(CL)​

  3. Physical Development (PD)​

  4. Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)​

  5. Specific Areas​

  6. Literacy​

  7. Mathematics​

  8. Understanding the world​

  9. Expressive arts and design

bottom of page